top of page

The 3 Stages of Foreclosure in California

foreclosure in california

Nobody wants to face a foreclosure. Yet, we see it happen all the time.

You don't have to walk away with nothing. There are things you can do to save your house or to sell it before it goes to auction.

Since we get so many questions regarding foreclosure in California and bank owned properties, we released a new YouTube video that walks you through the 3 stages of foreclosure and how to save your house from foreclosure. Take a look below to watch the video and then scroll down to see some of the key takeaways from the video.

The 3 Stages of Foreclosure:

Stage 1: Notice of Default

If you're significantly behind on the loan, the bank has the right to file a notice of default. This is a recorded deed and you'll receive a mail notification. This stage lasts 90 days. You have lots of options during these 90 days. The bank has probably already reached out to you if you're in this stage, so if you have questions, reach out to us at 916.524.9733.

Time period: 90 days

Stage 2: Notice of Trustee Sales

This is a much more critical stage, because it's extremely important to work quickly. They come to your house and post a notice on your front door saying your house will be sold at auction in 21 days. You still have time to do something, so don't give up!

Time period: 21 days

If you don't do anything during these 111 days, the sale of your property will occur at a public designated location. Please don't let this happen to you!

Stage 3: Real Estate Owned

This is when the property is considered bank owned. As a homeowner, you need to make sure you understand the other stages, so that you can do something before it's too late.


There is a lot more you'll want to know about each stage, including how long they last and what you can do. If you're facing a foreclosure, give us a call so we can discuss your options.

Russell Enyart and the Enyart Real Estate Group are top real estate agents serving serving West Sacramento, Folsom, El Dorado Hills, Granite Bay, Loomis, Rocklin, Roseville, and Sacramento County, Placer County, and El Dorado County.


bottom of page